I FEEL NO SHAME

Standard

WE HAVE MOVED: WWW.POETRY.WRR.NG

Why have you shut your eyes against your old culture?
Does my iro and buba not do me well than your ‘mini-gown’?

Why have you shut your mouth against our old food?
Does my amala and ewedu not do me well than your half cooked rice?
And does my pap not done me well than your oat?

Why have you shut your mind against your old wine?
Does my ‘palm wine’ not do me well than your strong ‘brandy’?

So when I move around in my ‘iro and buba’
And you call my culture barbaric,
I’ll smile and say, “I feel no shame”

Written by: Temitope Adedibu
Edited by: Kukogho Iruesiri Samson

View original post

Leave a Reply

